Review | P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

25486998

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West
Published by Point on July 26, 2016
Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Contemporary, Standalone
Pages: 330

THE BLURB

page_divider_1

Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

MY THOUGHTS

page_divider_1

Letters were safe. They were words, easy to read if enjoyable and stop reading if hurtful. Letters didn’t stare at me like he was staring at me now, full of fire.

This is YA contemporary at its cutest, funniest and loveliest form! I didn’t thought I‘d rate this book this high because most of the books I’ve read from this genre just doesn’t hold my attention for long. But this, oh boy, I sacrificed five hours of good night sleep for this!

I have to admit that it sounded like your typical YA teen romance at first and I was almost certain it’s going to drag ‘til the end. Well, I love it when a book proves me wrong.

Lily has a habit of doodling, composing, and writing some lyrics in her notebook to kill her boredom from her chemistry class. But when Mr. Ortega threaten to confiscate her notebook she wrote a song lyric on the desk instead. The fun started when someone wrote the next line of the song the next day. Seeing that they have the same taste in music, the two started suggesting some bands to listen to. Until they didn’t know they were already opening up and sharing each other’s secrets. But who is Lily’s mysterious pen pal? I don’t want to spoil things so I can only say that it isn’t who Lily suspected… at all.

There are some cliché in this book. And while it’s a little predictable, there is more than enough charm and hilarious moments to keep me entertained. Also, Kasie West was never short in providing distractions that made me second-guess what I thought I know.

P.S. I Like You is an addictive story with an adorable couple for protagonists. Lily is a fun character, sarcastic, quirky, and hilarious. She is easy to love as well as her big and loud family. It would be easy to recommend this book to those who are looking for a light, feel-good, and cute as hell read for summer.

BEAST POINTS

148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1

Leave a Reply

