Review | It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

27276318
It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria Books on August 02, 2016
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Adult, Standalone
Pages: 376

THE BLURB

page_divider_1

Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all-too-human characters, It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

MY THOUGHTS

page_divider_1

What a powerful read! This book just hit me in the heart so hard it left a mark. It was so real, and raw, and so honest. It doesn’t just inspire its readers. It educates. 

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.”

I think ‘blind’ is the best way to go into this just as Lily blindly got into a relationship. I’m one of those who got into this book blindly. I did not read reviews, didn’t even read the synopsis. I pick this up with nothing but my trust with CoHo. And I suggest you do the same. Not knowing made me feel like I’m exploring things with Lily. I fall in love when she did. I got scared whenever she is. My heart hurt just as hers did. My precious tears falls with hers!

“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”

It Ends with Us centers in relationships, family, love. It shows the beauty of falling in love, of having someone to treasure, someone who treasures you back in equal measure. Just as I begin to think that it’s going to be all rainbows and butterflies, everything gets fucked up.

I feel so much emotion for everyone in this book. I feel rage, doubt, pain. I feel lost! I wanted to fix everything for Lily. I wanted to make it right for all of them. But knowing that there’s nothing I can do, I swept the shattered pieces of my heart off the floor instead.

I have read and adored so many amazing heroines before. But Lily is one of those unforgettable characters I can’t help but just be proud of. Because it takes great strength to do what she did. She’s a picture of a modern woman. Brave but vulnerable. She takes risks. She guards her heart. She falls. Then she picks up the pieces and starts again. I was in awe of her strength and decisiveness. It is one thing to make a hard decision but being firm about it is another thing entirely.

“Just because we didn’t end up on the same wave, doesn’t mean we aren’t still a part of the same ocean.”

Colleen Hoover does make amazing stories but this one is by far my favorite. It was a little cheesy at the start, for me. If you’re like me, don’t let that first few chapters stop you from reading further. I would gladly recommend this to everyone especially those who are looking for something that steps out of the boundaries of a typical romance. Most importantly I recommend this for its lessons and for the powerful message it so successfully delivered.

“And as hard as this choice is, we break the pattern before the pattern breaks us.”

And don’t skip that author’s note. It’ll make you love this book even more.

BEAST POINTS

148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1

One thought on “Review | It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

