Review | The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

28763485
The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Published by Penguin Random House on November 01, 2016
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 348

THE BLURB

page_divider_1

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

MY THOUGHTS

page_divider_1
I haven’t read Everything, Everything. Yet. I’m definitely planning on reading it now. After finishing this I don’t think I’d put aside Nicola Yoon’s books ever again. First of all, I love her writing. Her words were easy to digest, everything was so easy to picture, and I can feel the heart pulsing at the core of this book. With a good plot, good execution, fantastically crafted and diverse characters, The Sun is Also a Star is one to fill you up with admiration.  

We tell ourselves there are reasons for the things that happen, but we’re just telling ourselves stories. We make them up. They don’t mean anything.

If you’ve read some of my past reviews you’ll know that I pretty much roll my eyes on insta-loves. But I’m not a hater of insta-loves. I don’t mind if people fall in love in a blink of an eye so long as the story was good and delivered in a way that is believable. This book has far too many coincidences to call it believable. But the author makes everything else so convincing, and cute, and just lovely in every angle. It presents a story that shows a whole lot of chances and possibilities that could happen in a course of one day.

The thing about falling is you don’t have any control on your way down.

Our protagonists, Daniel and Natasha, fell in love in less than twenty-four hours. They met. They talked. They just clicked on every level. And then they fall in love. Surprisingly I didn’t feel like everything happened so fast. I was so absorbed with the drama and the amazing chemistry between Daniel and Natasha that I didn’t have time to think about how cheesy it all is, and how fast they’re falling for each other.

Names are powerful things. They act as an identity marker and a kind of map, locating you in time and geography. More than that, they can be a compass.

What is very memorable about this book is the diversity. Daniel is a Korean-American whose future was already determined by his parents. They want him to be a doctor whether he wants to or not. But Daniel is a poet at heart. He is the romantic type. Simple, sincere, and definitely a darling. Natasha is a undocumented immigrant from Jamaica bound to be deported in twelve hours along with her family. She believes in the science of everything rather than love, or fate, or meant to be’s. So the story has a romance versus science feel that just adds to the cuteness. And then there’s that scientific experiment involving 36 questions that could make two strangers fall in love. I just couldn’t help but smile because I remember reading about that experiment somewhere in the internet years ago (Ha! I even saved the questions!) and thought that a lot of good romantic stories could come out from that idea. And here’s one of them! Yay!

“I think all the good parts of us are connected on some level. The part that shares the last double chocolate chip cookie or donates to charity or gives a dollar to a street musician or becomes a candy striper or cries at Apple commercials or says I love you or I forgive you. I think that’s God. God is the connection of the very best parts of us.”

There are quite a handful of POV’s in there, from Daniel to Natasha, extending to every person they interact with within that day. But fret not. It never gets confusing. It was Daniel’s voice I loved most with him being funny and charming in all the right moments, but it was Natasha whom I found some connection to. Well, we share the same taste in music. Every time she mentions an artist or a band I find myself reminiscing those times when their music was blaring out of my headset.

Aside from the different POV’s there were also short chapters that is dedicated for random factoids and it informs you in a way that is not boring or uninteresting. If anything it made me watch out for more of these informative side chapters because the way the author uses it in this story is just clever.

In fifteenth-century African civilizations, hairstyles were markers of identity. Hairstyle could indicate everything from tribe or family background to religion to social status. Elaborate hairstyles designated power and wealth. A subdued style could be a sign that you were in a state of mourning. More than that, hair could have spiritual importance. Because it’s on your head —the highest part of your body and closest to the skies —many Africans viewed it as a passageway for spirits to the soul, a way to interact with God.

The Sun Is Also a Star is a story of love, and chances, and destiny. But more than that it is also about family and culture. I love how it shows that even the smallest events in our life can be extremely important, that even the slightest interactions can be life changing whether for you or for someone else’s.

For Young Adult and Contemporary readers, or for those planning on grabbing a light read for the weekend, don’t miss this book.

BEAST POINTS

148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1

4 thoughts on “Review | The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

