Review | This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab

23299512
This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab
Published by HarperCollins on July 15, 2016
Genre : Paranormal, Young Adult, Fantasy
Pages : 427

THE BLURB

page_divider_1

Kate Harker wants to be as ruthless as her father. After five years and six boarding schools, she’s finally going home to prove that she can be.

August Flynn wants to be human. But he isn’t. He’s a monster, one that can steal souls with a song. He’s one of the three most powerful monsters in a city overrun with them. His own father’s secret weapon.

Their city is divided.

Their city is crumbling.

Kate and August are the only two who see both sides, the only two who could do something.

But how do you decide to be a hero or a villain when it’s hard to tell which is which?

MY THOUGHTS

page_divider_1
For the past few weeks, I’ve buried my face in a series of books about princes and princesses, castle politics, and scheming villains. This Savage Song has none of that which makes it a perfect breather. What it bears are Monsters!

“Monsters, monsters, big and small,
They’re gonna come and eat you all.
Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,
Shadow and bone will eat you raw.
Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,
Smile and bite and drink you dry.
Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,
Sing you a song and steal your soul.”

I’ve heard countless stories about monsters as a child, but it’s never a common one with Victoria Schwab. Her stories were always deliciously unique and just the right amount of creepy. An engrossing supernatural tale is what this is. The moment I started reading, I was completely absorbed and it was just impossible to set down.  

It’s not the kind of book that you’ll love instantly after a few pages, but I tell you, Schwab knows how to handle a book. She doesn’t dump information unceremoniously to her readers. I love that we came to know every character bit by bit. I love how she builds this dark, but amazing world. And I definitely love the idea of violence breeding actual monsters.

“It hadn’t been just about the sinner in the end, it was about the sin itself, the shadow that ate away a human’s light.”

Another interesting thing is that the two main characters belong to different sides of the divided city of Verity, which automatically make them enemies. To make matters worse, Kate Harker is human, while August Flynn is a monster. That should have made August the villain, but in Schwab’s dangerous world, the line between humans and monsters is a blur. Humans aren’t all innocent, and monsters aren’t all bad.

Kate and August are two powerful characters with beautiful flaws. August desperately wants to become human. Kate hates monsters for a good reason. The moment they realized that they were facing the same enemy, they quickly learn to watch each other’s back and it was fantastically beautiful that I wished for a spark (or make it a bonfire) to ignite between the two. Sadly, there is no romance. Although I should’ve guessed because I’ve read Schwab’s Vicious and there was no romance in there as well. But the lack of romance is not a deal breaker at all. The story was still awesome even without it, the characters were lovable, all the angst was well-placed, and the suspense was gripping that it will make you keep turning pages.

There are some parts I found a little boring but overall the story was just awesome that all those boring parts are cancelled out. The best part, at least for me, is that huge cliffhanger ending. I bet it will leave many readers wanting more like it did to me. I highly recommend this not just to Schwab’s fans but also to those who love dark dystopian and paranormal reads.

BEAST POINTS

148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1

4 thoughts on “Review | This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab

  1. I’m super glad to hear that you enjoyed this book! Schwab is a master world-builder, I think, and while Our Savage Song is not my favourite from hers I really fell into the story too and now can’t wait for Our Dark Duet. I actually like that there isn’t any romance (yet?) in this book – I think a fast “falling in love” will seem out of character with Kate and August. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree. I’d still love Kate and August even if no romance would spark. It would be refreshing to see two young people becoming friends and allies instead of falling in love. I’m now reading Schwab’s Darker Shades of Magic and I think I’m liking it even more. 😃

      Like

  2. Thank God! That saved me from a whole year of waiting. It’s not in my unforgettable series list yet but it’s getting there. Fast! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

