Review | Reaper by A. Zavarelli

Reaper
Title: Reaper
Series: Boston Underworld #2
Author: A. Zavarelli
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Release Date: June 03, 2016
Genre: Adult, Romance
Pages: 260

Blurb from Goodreads:

Sasha.

He’s dark and mysterious. Quiet and lethal.
An Irish mobster.
Pure sin wrapped up in a beautiful package.
But there’s also something off about him.
He doesn’t feel anything. He shows no emotions.
Sometimes I question his humanity.
He hasn’t spoken to me in two years. Not a single word.
But we share a secret, he and I.
And if it ever comes out, I have no doubt in my mind…
He won’t have a problem killing me too.

Ronan.

I’ve slain for her. I’ll do it again.
When it comes to Sasha, there isn’t a line I won’t cross.
I watch her. She doesn’t know it.
She thinks I hate her. Sometimes, I think I might too.
But I’m always there, lurking in the shadows.
Craving her. Trying to keep the beast within at bay.
I’ll keep her safe. I’ll slaughter anyone who tries to hurt her.
The only thing I can’t do… is protect her from myself.

My Thoughts-01

Time for another steamy read! I’ve decided to continue on the Boston Underworld series because I’m in the mood for dangerous mafia stories and dark, lethal, broody, and sexy Irish guys. Reaper is a lot darker than it’s predecessor, Crow. And a lot more brutal, I think, as our hero—Ronan—is the mafia’s appointed reaper. His job is to torture and kill people for information or torture and kill people for betraying the mafia. Either way there’s a lot of maiming and violence in this book, given it’s theme. And most of it is very graphic that there were particular scenes that I find a bit jarring.

This book could pass as standalone but I would still recommend reading Crow beforehand. We already knew Ronan from the first book as Lachlan’s right hand and Sasha as one of the strippers at a club owned by Lachlan’s group. And we knew that there’s this strong unspoken romantic pull between them even then. Well, this book lets us know them in a deeper level. We saw just how broken these two were and how they found the light in each other. 

He only shows the world the smallest safest parts of himself. But inside, underneath, is a wealth of hidden discoveries. I want to know them all.

The character development is remarkable in this book. Pairing Ronan and Sasha is like blending the tough and the tender elements together. And the result is good. Ronan is not your typical perfect rich guy with a smile that could light up a room. No. He is dangerous, scarred, messed up, and a bit creepy if you ask me. He was trained (or tortured) to do one thing and one thing only—to kill. No wonder why the guy isn’t good with people! I’ve always loved flashbacks and Ronan’s was almost painful to read. It explains a lot of things about him—why he doesn’t talk, doesn’t want to be touched. Those memories were still haunting him and still affects him, big time! Although when he’s with Sasha we see so much of his other side—the side that is affectionate, devoted, and just innocent. This guy is the most complex character so far.

My dark prince. The reaper. The man who spilled blood for me without pause. For that reason alone he’ll always be on a pedestal that no other can reach. He’ll always be the memory I revisit in my darkest of times. 

Sasha’s side of the story is just as tough. When she’s at work she deals with men who thinks they have all the right to touch her wherever and whenever they want because she’s a stripper. When she’s with her boyfriend, she had to deal with more abuse. When she’s at home, she’s dealing with the cancer that’s slowly taking her mother away from her right in front of her eyes. Sasha might appear soft and weak compared to the other girls in the mafia but just look at her taking all those blows for her family! And she’s got no one to help her through it until there’s Ronan.

I don’t know anything other than that it’s always been her, from the moment I saw her three years ago. She’s the thing that I’ve yearned for more than anything else. And for that reason, she’s the one thing I can never have. I cannot control my urges. My instincts.

The action, the friendship, the humor, and the strong bond of brotherhood within the mafia is also enjoyable. The author made a good job in injecting some hilarious lines in the conversations despite all the dangers surrounding these guys. Also I just can’t help but admire their unflinching loyalty to each other and the support that comes without question. When one is in trouble, they’re all in it together and I fecking love that about them. And, okay, I know this book is about Ronan but it was Lachlan I’m loving more as we get to see more of his mischievous side too. It seems that my heart will always be with Lachlan.

Damaged souls have their own beauty. A dark, terrifying beauty. The same type of beauty I recognize in Ronan.

Ronan and Sasha made a balanced and beautiful pair. Though the lack of proper communication between them on most part of the book almost ruined it for me. It didn’t feel like they connected as much as I want them to because of that. Ronan being a stalker creeped me out a bit. I know his intentions were to protect Sasha but a part of it just made me cringe. Also, Ronan’s a bit too possessive for my taste. Sometimes I find possessiveness to be appealing but strangely not in this book.

My life, my love, my breath.
May we always have each other, in this life and the next.

Reaper is a nice and hot read, overall. Half gritty and half romantic all blended seamlessly. This could be entertaining for those who are looking for a mix of dark and romantic storyline that you can read in a single sitting.

 

Three Star Rating-01

Leave a Reply

