Review | Crow (Boston Underworld #1) by A. Zavarelli

30184290
Crow (Boston Underworld #1) by A. Zavarelli
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on February 10, 2016
Genres: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 314

THE BLURB

page_divider_1

An Irish mobster. A missing friend. Two loyalties, ripping me apart. I had a plan. Get in, get my information, and get out. Easy, right? Turns out, infiltrating the Irish mafia isn’t exactly what I thought it would be. I just wanted a soldier. Someone I could flirt with to get me in the door. That’s when Lachlan Crow noticed me. Problem was, he wasn’t a soldier. No, he was next in line for the throne of the Irish underworld. And he was determined to hate me from the outset. My sob story about needing a job? Yeah, he wasn’t buying that either. Too bad for him, I won’t let anyone get in the way of my mission. Who cares if we have some kind of crazy chemistry? He’s the worst kind of wrong- and I would never in a million years be with a guy like him. Because they took her from me, and I’m going to make them pay.

MY THOUGHTS

page_divider_1

Now this isn’t a book I’d normally read. I’m a young adult fantasy junkie, you see. But I do step out of my comfort zone once in a while and I try to pick up a book from every genre. So I had my eye on this series for my steamy reads. And boy, this book? It burns!

Mack’s search for her lost friend Talia has led her to Lachlan Crow –the calculating, dark, and dangerous boss who is to be the future leader of the Irish mafia. As Mack started making progress in tracking Talia, her heart made progress in falling for Lachlan, which is bad. Because she sees Lachlan as an enemy responsible for Talia’s disappearance.

This book has got chemistry. Mack and Lachlan weren’t very friendly (of course) when they first met but the attraction between them was obvious. It was a long way before things really heat up between this pair. And I like it because it’s teasing that way.

The tension was there. The threats to their lives were incessant. This is a mafia world after all. But even with all those guns, and shootings, and insane killings, I knew no harm would befall on Lach’s friends. Because, I just knew!

While this book was mostly enjoyable, I found some flaws in the way. Specifically on Mack’s character. Is there nothing she can’t do? She can fight and kick a thug’s ass. She can go undercover alone. She nailed a job as stripper because she wants to. She can mock Lach’s rival in the face without fear for repercussions. On top of all that, she has nothing to lose and there weren’t any difficult choices for her to make which kind of took the colors off her character.

Unlike Mack, Lachlan faces a dilemma. Choose Mack and lose the boss position that means so much to him. Or choose the mafia and lose Mack who started to mean a lot of things to him.

Things got bloody brutal on some parts, but I think it’s just fitting and needed given the kind of world our protagonists were living in.

My little issues aside, I did enjoy this one quite a bit. It does contain some of the elements I look for in a good book and I’d recommend this to those who are looking for a fast read with strong, and sexy, and smoking hot characters.

BEAST POINTS

148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 148160180316150-1 imageedit_1_7381720397-1

Leave a Reply

