Review | Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) by Victoria Aveyard

23174274
Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) by Victoria Aveyard
Published by HarperCollins on February 09, 2016
Genre : Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages : 444

THE BLURB

page_divider_1

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

MY THOUGHTS

page_divider_1

“If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

Well my interest for this series is beginning to shatter!

A single star is a bit harsh. I know. But this is downright disappointing. I just couldn’t think of anything in particular that held my interest throughout this book. Not the plot —it’s not like something I haven’t seen before. Not the romance —it was boring. I still don’t feel a strong connection between Cal and Mare to convince me that they love each other. Not the twist. God, the twist! Everyone is talking about it and I’m really intrigued. I was very eager to know what it was. In fact, it might be the only reason why I decided to read this to the end. The twist was unexpected, I give it that. I was sad for, like, five seconds and that’s it. What’s disappointing is how quickly life resume for everybody right after that. As if this wicked twist did not happen at all. Sadly it did not leave the kind of impact that the twist in Red Queen did. 

“No one is born evil, just like no one is born alone. They become that way, through choice and circumstance.”

There is no shortage in action scenes but despite that, this book still manage to get disengaging. This is not the Red Vs. Silver fight I was expecting. No, because this is ninety percent search-and-rescue-the-newbloods kind of book. And yeah, it’s annoying how paranoid the characters of this book has become. Trust no one had been used too many times that it deserves an eye roll.

One problem with Glass Sword is that a lot of it screams “not one of a kind”. There’s quite a few resemblance to Marie Lu’s The Young Elites. Cal’s power was so much like Enzo’s. Although Enzo is far more badass. One of Mare’s newbloods, Harrick, can create illusions just like Adelina Amoutero. There’s also a resemblance to Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy. House Samos’ silver ability could pass as a Grisha Fabrikator. Maven is a poor shadow of the Darkling. Yeah, the love interest turned villain. Mare escaped the evil, scheming, Prince Maven and Queen Elara and found herself seeking refuge in a place that wasn’t suppose to exist anymore, run by powerful people with hidden agenda. Sounds like The Hunger Games to me. Not to mention Mare giving a speech that was suppose to ignite an uprising against the new King and broadcasting it on the entire country. I almost picture Katniss Everdeen delivering that speech!

“No one is born a monster. But I wish some people were. It would make it easier to hate them, to kill them, to forget their dead faces.”

Let’s talk about the bad guy. I hate to compare Maven with the Darkling because the Darkling is simply better, a villain with a principle and belief of his own. While Maven is just another prince blinded by the throne. The reason I have to make the comparison is because the antagonist plays as big a part as the protagonist in making a book interesting. Maven has but a few appearances in this book. And so is the Darkling in Siege And Storm. But the thing is, the Darkling still managed to spook me, put fear in me, even when he’s not around much. Maven on the other hand just feel like a harmless darkness sitting on the background.

“Attend to your own fate, Mare Barrow.”

“And that is?”

“To rise. And rise alone.”

Another problem is Mare Barrow. I couldn’t get myself to like her character no matter how she fought for her cause. There were times (a lot of it actually) that I find Mare so annoyingly selfish.

So would I still pick up the third installment?… Probably. But only because I hate not finishing a series that I started. And I still want to see how it ends for the Reds and Silvers. It’s almost at the bottom of my TBR file though.

See my review on Red Queen HERE.

BEAST POINTS

148160180316150-1

8 thoughts on “Review | Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) by Victoria Aveyard

  1. Drats. I have seen two wildly different reviews of this book – people either loveddddd it more than the first or give it a one star just like your review. I’m super sorry you didn’t like it, and I’m kind of sad because I have this on my February TBR. You make some great points, though! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really enjoyed Red Queen so maybe I’ve put a lot of expectations on Glass Sword and most of it didn’t happen. But there’s good action and some cool new characters. You might like this book better than I did. ☺

      Like

      • Yeah she was just too much with her constantly bringing up how she doesn’t trust anyone, and don’t even get me started on how often she said “I’m the lightning girl”! Ugh!! Lol but yes, fingers crossed that kings cage is better! 😛

        Like

  2. Awesome review! I just finished Red Queen and didn’t really like it. I wasn’t too keen on the idea of labouring through the second book, so the fact that you and others didn’t really like it kind of makes my decision for me! 😜

    Like

    • Aw, I’m sorry to hear that. I was quite entertained by Red Queen that’s why I picked up Glass Sword but reading this felt like a chore. If you didn’t like the Red Queen, I doubt you’ll find anything in this book that will snatch your interest back into the series. 😊

      Like

      • Yeah I’ve heard a lot of people really don’t like the second book… I probably won’t continue with the series then! It’s a shame, though, that the second book sounds like a flop 😕

        Like

Leave a Reply

